Work abroad as an audiologist: UK, Ireland, EU and US (2026)
Hearing aid dispenser is a regulated HCPC title in the UK, while audiologist is not. Ireland recognises audiology qualifications for public posts, Germany and the Netherlands treat hearing aid fitting as a skilled trade, and every US state licenses audiologists at doctoral level.
Overview
Audiologists diagnose and manage hearing loss and balance disorders, and hearing aid dispensers assess hearing and fit hearing aids. The two roles are regulated very differently across the countries MedicSail covers.
In the UK, hearing aid dispenser is a protected title regulated by the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC), and it carries a protected function: in the private sector, only an HCPC-registered hearing aid dispenser may test hearing or prescribe a hearing aid with a view to selling one. Audiologist itself is not a protected title in the UK; NHS audiologists can join a voluntary register run by the Academy for Healthcare Science (AHCS), and audiology clinical scientists register with the HCPC.
Ireland does not regulate audiologists through CORU. Instead, the Minister for Health is the competent authority for recognising non-Irish audiology qualifications for jobs in the publicly funded health sector, and the Department of Health's Validation Unit processes applications once you have a job offer or a place on a recruitment panel. The minimum is an honours bachelor's degree in audiology (Level 8) or a master's (Level 9). We found no statutory register for hearing aid dispensers in Ireland.
Germany and the Netherlands treat hearing aid fitting as a trade with vocational training. In Germany, Hörakustiker is a skilled craft: employees can have their training recognised by the Chamber of Crafts (Handwerkskammer), and anyone who wants to run their own business must have a qualification equivalent to the German master craftsperson and be entered in the Register of Crafts. Hearing tests in medical settings are a reserved activity of the regulated Medizinische Technologin or Technologe für Funktionsdiagnostik. In the Netherlands, audiciens train at vocational (MBO level 4) colleges and register with the Stichting Audicienregister (StAr), while audiologists in audiological centres are typically clinical physicists who specialise in audiology, a protected training title under the BIG Act.
The USA is the most demanding destination for audiologists. The Bureau of Labor Statistics says all states license audiologists and that the entry-level qualification is the Doctor of Audiology (AuD). Foreign-trained audiologists need a credential evaluation showing equivalence to a US clinical doctorate; ASHA's Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC-A) and state boards such as Texas both require it, plus the Praxis Audiology exam. Hearing aid specialists are licensed separately by each state, and most states use the International Hearing Society's licensing exam. Audiologists also need a VisaScreen certificate under federal rules.
This page is for audiologists and hearing aid dispensers trained outside these countries, including those working in the Gulf. The key questions are which title your training fits (dispenser, practitioner audiologist or clinical scientist), whether your degree is at the level a country requires, and, for the UK, whether you plan to work in the NHS or the private sector.
Qualifications
Minimum
For UK hearing aid dispensing, a qualification relevant to the HCPC standards of proficiency for hearing aid dispensers. For Irish public posts, an honours bachelor's (NFQ Level 8) or master's (Level 9) in audiology recognised by the Minister for Health. For the USA, a degree evaluated as equivalent to a US clinical doctorate in audiology.
Preferred
A degree covering hearing assessment, ear impressions, hearing aid selection, programming and fitting, rehabilitation and the communication needs of people with hearing loss (all named in the HCPC standards), plus diagnostic audiology, paediatrics and vestibular assessment for audiologist roles.
Experience
No European country here sets a fixed minimum. ASHA requires 1,820 hours (12 months full-time) of supervised clinical practicum within the clinical doctoral program for the CCC-A. Germany considers professional experience in its equivalence assessment, and AHCS equivalence assesses experience against UK training outcomes.
Country by country
United Kingdom: HCPC
Hearing aid dispenser (protected title and protected function); clinical scientist (protected title)
- Requirements
- Apply through the HCPC international route with a course information form, experience section, references and certified documents. Clinical scientists in audiology come through AHCS Scientist Training Programme equivalence, after which AHCS notifies the HCPC.
- Exams
- No licensing exam. Assessors decide on paper and may offer a test of competence, a structured professional discussion.
- English
- IELTS 7.0 with no element below 6.5, or TOEFL iBT at the HCPC scores, no more than two years old. OET is not listed for hearing aid dispensers.
- Timeline
- The HCPC says about three months to assess a complete application, then about three months for verification.
- Good to know
- Fees: £678.38 non-refundable scrutiny fee, then £370.02 registration for most international applicants. The protected function covers private-sector dispensing only; NHS staff dispensing hearing aids do not commit an offence if unregistered.
United Kingdom: AHCS (RCCP register)
Audiologist (voluntary register; not a protected title)
- Requirements
- Apply to AHCS for a Practitioner Training Programme Certificate of Equivalence, which is open to people trained outside the UK. You compile a portfolio against the audiology PTP outcomes within up to six months, then join the voluntary register.
- Exams
- No exam. A professional assessor and a lay assessor review your portfolio, usually without an interview.
- English
- Non-UK citizens: IELTS 7.0 with no element below 6.5, TOEFL iBT 100 or C1 Advanced, unless your qualification is from an HCPC-listed qualifying country.
- Timeline
- Up to six months to gather evidence, plus assessment time.
- Good to know
- The RCCP register, accredited by the Professional Standards Authority, covers audiologists, hearing therapists and educational audiologists. Check the current equivalence fee with AHCS.
Ireland: Department of Health (Validation Unit)
Audiologist in the publicly funded health sector (not a CORU profession)
- Requirements
- The Minister for Health recognises non-Irish audiology qualifications. Send a cover letter, the employer's letter confirming your qualifications meet the post, a job offer or panel placement, your qualifications, evidence you could practise where you qualified, and proof of identity, all as witnessed copies.
- Exams
- None stated.
- English
- Not stated in the Department's checklist; employers set the requirement.
- Timeline
- Not stated. Email a copy of your application to [email protected] to help it move faster.
- Good to know
- No fee is stated. Minimum: an honours bachelor's (Level 8) or master's (Level 9) in audiology. We found no statutory register for hearing aid dispensers in Ireland.
Germany: Handwerkskammer
Hörakustiker or Hörakustikerin (skilled craft)
- Requirements
- Employees can have their training recognised against the German training occupation by the Chamber of Crafts. To be self-employed you must be entered in the Register of Crafts (Handwerksrolle), which usually needs recognition as equivalent to the German master craftsperson qualification.
- Exams
- No exam for the recognition decision; the chamber compares your training with the German qualification.
- Language
- German is needed in practice; there is no English route.
- Timeline
- Set by the chamber under the federal recognition law.
- Good to know
- Audiologist is not a regulated title in Germany. Ask the Handwerkskammer for its current fee before applying.
Germany: State recognition authority
Medizinische Technologin or Technologe für Funktionsdiagnostik (MT-F)
- Requirements
- Functional diagnostics in ear, nose and throat medicine, which includes hearing tests, is reserved to MT-F under the MT-Berufe-Gesetz, with exceptions such as people whose university education gives them the expertise. The title needs state permission after an equivalence check.
- Exams
- If your training is not equivalent, an adaptation period or a knowledge test.
- Language
- German, not English, at B2. You can submit the certificate later in the procedure.
- Timeline
- The Recognition Finder says the authority decides within four months of a complete file.
- Good to know
- Procedure cost €25 to €430 in Berlin, plus translations and any compensation measure.
Netherlands: StAr
Audicien (StAr register; not a BIG profession)
- Requirements
- Dutch audiciens train at MBO level 4 colleges and register with the Stichting Audicienregister. StAr's standards committee (Normeringscommissie) assesses whether a diploma obtained outside the Netherlands meets its quality requirements.
- Exams
- None national. StAr sets continuing education requirements for registered audiciens.
- Language
- Dutch is needed in practice.
- Timeline
- Set by StAr.
- Good to know
- StAr is a quality register, not a statutory one. Ask StAr about fees and the documents its committee needs.
Netherlands: BIG
Klinisch fysicus with audiology specialisation (article 34 protected training title)
- Requirements
- Clinical physicist is an article 34 profession. Dutch training is postgraduate, after a master's-level physics degree, with a basic package and an audiology package. With a diploma from outside Europe you apply for a Certificate of Professional Competence, and the CBGV may require additional training.
- Exams
- No BI-test for article 34 professions; the committee may advise additional training.
- Language
- Dutch at the level the BIG register sets for the profession's education level (B2+ for academic professions, B2 for higher vocational), plus English reading skills. Check the level for clinical physicists with the BIG register.
- Timeline
- The BIG register says six to 18 months on average.
- Good to know
- The BIG register says there are no costs for the certificate application and committee assessment. Audiologists without a physics background have no matching protected title.
United States: State boards and ASHA
Licensed audiologist (all states); optional ASHA CCC-A
- Requirements
- A doctoral degree in audiology. Texas, for example, requires an evaluation from an ASHA-approved transcript service for foreign degrees, the Praxis exam, its jurisprudence exam and fingerprints. ASHA needs a NACES evaluation showing US clinical doctoral equivalence and 1,820 practicum hours.
- Exams
- Praxis Audiology (5343): 120 questions in two hours, $146, at home or at a test center. ASHA's passing score is 170.
- English
- No separate English test for ASHA or Texas, but documents must be in English. VisaScreen, required for audiologists' visas, has its own English requirement.
- Timeline
- Depends on your evaluation; ASHA rejects evaluations older than five years.
- Good to know
- Texas application fee $150. If your degree is evaluated as below a US doctorate, ASHA says you are ineligible to apply.
United States: State boards (hearing aid specialists)
Licensed hearing aid specialist or dispenser
- Requirements
- Each state licenses hearing aid specialists and decides who may sit its exam. The licensing agency, not the exam provider, determines your eligibility.
- Exams
- Most states use the International Licensing Examination (ILE) from the International Hearing Society: 105 multiple-choice questions (80 scored) in 120 minutes.
- English
- Set by each state.
- Timeline
- Set by each state.
- Good to know
- The International Hearing Society runs the exam but does not issue licenses. Check your target state's requirements first.
The route, step by step
1. Work out which title your training fits
Decide whether you are a hearing aid dispenser, a practitioner audiologist, an audiology scientist or, in the USA, a doctoral-level audiologist. In the UK this decides whether you apply to the HCPC or AHCS. Applying under the wrong title wastes a non-refundable fee.2. Check the level of your degree
Ireland requires at least an honours bachelor's (Level 8) in audiology for public posts, and US boards and ASHA need equivalence to a US clinical doctorate. ASHA says a degree evaluated below doctoral level makes you ineligible. Check this before paying for anything else.3. Gather detailed course documents
The HCPC needs its course information form completed by your university, AHCS needs evidence against PTP outcomes, and US evaluators need transcripts translated into semester hours. Ask for syllabuses and clinical hours for every course.4. Pass the language test
The HCPC and AHCS accept IELTS 7.0 with no element below 6.5; OET is not listed for HCPC hearing aid dispensers. Germany needs German at B2 for MT-F recognition, and the Netherlands sets Dutch levels by the education level of each profession. For the USA, VisaScreen has its own list of approved English tests.5. Get a job offer where recognition depends on one
In Ireland, the Department of Health needs an employer's letter and a job offer or panel placement before it will validate your audiology qualification. Apply for HSE or HSE-funded audiology posts first, then send your validation application.6. Apply and complete any extra assessment
Apply to the HCPC (£678.38 scrutiny fee), AHCS, the Department of Health, the German Handwerkskammer or state authority, StAr or the BIG register. For the USA, book the Praxis Audiology exam and apply to the state board, or sit the ILE for hearing aid specialist licensing.7. Collect good standing letters and references
Every regulator wants evidence that you were entitled to practise where you qualified. Ask each authority you have been licensed with, including Gulf regulators, for a good standing or verification letter, and use supervisors on official work email addresses.8. Sort out your visa
In the UK, audiologists sit under occupation code 2259, which is eligible for the Health and Care Worker visa. Hearing aid dispensers sit under code 3213, which is not listed for new Health and Care Worker visa applications. In the USA, audiologists need a VisaScreen certificate. Check official immigration sources before resigning.
Exam preparation
Only the USA uses written licensing exams for this profession: the Praxis Audiology exam for audiologists and, in most states, the International Licensing Examination for hearing aid specialists. In the UK and Ireland, assessment is on paper, with an HCPC test of competence if assessors need more information. Germany may set a knowledge test for MT-F recognition, and the Dutch committee may advise additional training.
Tips
- Use the Praxis Audiology content weightings to plan revision: assessment carries 35 percent of the questions and intervention 25 percent.
- Expect clinical case questions on the Praxis built around audiograms, physiological test results and research findings.
- Send Praxis scores directly from ETS to ASHA; ASHA needs a passing score of 170 within its time limits.
- For an HCPC test of competence, prepare to discuss how you test hearing, take ear impressions, programme and fit hearing aids and plan rehabilitation, as the standards require.
- Learn UK referral criteria and when a dispenser must refer to a doctor, which the HCPC standards on assessment cover.
- Check your target US state's eligibility rules before booking the ILE; the state board, not the International Hearing Society, approves candidates.
- For a German MT-F knowledge test, learn audiometry and ENT vocabulary in German.
- Keep a log of supervised clinical hours by area; ASHA and equivalence assessors both ask for it.
Topics that come up
- Anatomy and physiology of the ear and balance system
- Acoustics and psychoacoustics
- Pure tone and speech audiometry
- Tympanometry and acoustic reflexes
- Otoacoustic emissions and auditory brainstem response
- Paediatric assessment and newborn hearing screening
- Vestibular assessment
- Ear impressions and earmould selection
- Hearing aid selection, programming, fitting and verification
- Cochlear implants and assistive listening technology
- Tinnitus management and rehabilitation
- Referral criteria, infection control, consent and professional standards
Pay by country
Public audiologists in the UK and Ireland are paid on national scales, shown with their effective dates. Private-sector hearing aid dispensers and audiciens are paid by their employers everywhere. For Germany and the Netherlands we could not confirm a national figure from an official source.
UK£32,073 to £39,043 (Band 5), £39,959 to £48,117 (Band 6), 2026/27NHS Agenda for Change in England from 1 April 2026. NHS Health Careers lists audiology practitioners at Band 5 and clinical scientists at Bands 6 to 8a. Private hearing aid dispensers: set by employer.
Ireland€40,920 to €52,311 (HSE Audiologist, from 1 June 2026)HSE consolidated pay scales. Senior €54,680 to €62,884; Clinical Specialist €59,668 to €73,189.
GermanySet by collective agreement or employerWe could not confirm figures from an official source.
NetherlandsSet by collective agreement (CAO) or employerWe could not confirm figures from an official source.
USA$95,780 median annual wage for audiologists (May 2025)US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Employment is projected to grow 11 percent from 2025 to 2035.
Career growth
Audiology careers branch into clinical specialties, science, business and leadership. The UK and Irish public scales set out the main clinical grades.
Clinical specialties
Paediatric audiology, vestibular assessment, cochlear implants and tinnitus are common specialist areas. In the HSE these lead to Senior and Clinical Specialist Audiologist grades.Clinical scientist
In the UK, audiology practitioners can progress to clinical scientist, a protected HCPC title, through the Scientist Training Programme or AHCS equivalence. NHS Health Careers lists clinical scientists at Bands 6 to 8a.Private practice and business
Hearing aid dispensers often move into clinic management or open their own practice. In Germany, running your own business requires master craftsperson-level recognition and entry in the Register of Crafts.National and service leadership
The HSE has Chief Audiologist, Audiology Assistant National Lead and Audiology National Lead grades, and NHS audiology services are led by senior clinical scientists.US doctoral practice
In the USA, audiologists with an AuD and state license can add ASHA's CCC-A or American Board of Audiology certification, which some employers prefer.
Common mistakes
- 1
Applying to the HCPC as an audiologist. The HCPC registers hearing aid dispensers and clinical scientists, not audiologists; NHS practitioner audiologists use the AHCS voluntary register.
- 2
Testing hearing or prescribing hearing aids in a UK private clinic before HCPC registration. It is a criminal offence for anyone not registered as a hearing aid dispenser.
- 3
Taking OET for HCPC hearing aid dispenser registration. OET is not listed for that profession.
- 4
Counting on a Health and Care Worker visa as a hearing aid dispenser. Code 3213 is not listed for new applications.
- 5
Applying to the Irish Department of Health without a job offer. Its checklist requires an employer letter and a job offer or panel placement.
- 6
Applying for US licensure with a bachelor's or master's degree. US boards and ASHA require doctoral-level equivalence, and ASHA rejects applicants evaluated below it.
- 7
Using a credential evaluation older than five years for ASHA. It will not be accepted.
- 8
Opening your own hearing aid business in Germany on a foreign qualification without checking master craftsperson equivalence with the Handwerkskammer.
How we help audiologists and hearing aid dispensers
Review of your qualifications, transcripts, experience and current registration
Check against the published requirements of the regulators you choose
Check of how recent your practice is and whether any gap in practice affects your route
English or other language requirement for each route, with any exemption you may qualify for
Comparison of routes and countries, with the trade-offs explained
List of the exams, aptitude tests or adaptation periods each route is likely to involve
Written roadmap: exams, English test, documents, fees and timeline
Budget built from the official regulator, exam and verification fees, kept separate from our own fee
Flags for slow steps to start first, such as primary source verification and language learning
A call to walk you through the plan and answer your questions
Questions
No. The HCPC protects "hearing aid dispenser" and "clinical scientist", but not "audiologist". NHS audiologists can join the voluntary register run by the Academy for Healthcare Science, which took over the RCCP register.
In the private sector, yes. Only an HCPC-registered hearing aid dispenser may test hearing or prescribe a hearing aid with a view to selling one. People dispensing in the NHS do not commit an offence if they are not registered.
A £678.38 non-refundable scrutiny fee, then £370.02 registration for most international applicants, covering three professional years.
GOV.UK lists audiologists under occupation code 2259, which is eligible. Hearing aid dispensers are under code 3213, which is listed only for some extensions where the certificate of sponsorship was issued before 22 July 2025.
No. CORU does not regulate audiologists. For public sector posts, the Department of Health's Validation Unit recognises non-Irish audiology qualifications once you have a job offer or panel placement.
The Department of Health sets the minimum as an honours bachelor's degree in audiology (Level 8) or a master's in audiology (Level 9). The HSE Audiologist scale runs from €40,920 to €52,311 from 1 June 2026.
Yes. Hörakustiker is a skilled craft. As an employee you can have your training recognised by the Handwerkskammer; to run your own business you need master craftsperson equivalence and entry in the Register of Crafts.
No. Audiciens register with the Stichting Audicienregister (StAr), a quality register, and its standards committee assesses foreign diplomas. Clinical physicists specialising in audiology have an article 34 protected training title.
The BLS says the AuD is the entry-level qualification and all states license audiologists. With a foreign degree you need an evaluation showing equivalence to a US clinical doctorate.
ETS's Audiology (5343) test: 120 selected-response questions in two hours, taken at home or at a test center, costing $146. ASHA requires a score of 170.
Yes. Federal regulations (8 CFR 212.15) list speech-language pathologists and audiologists among the health care workers who need a certificate, which TruMerit issues as VisaScreen. It includes an English proficiency requirement.
No. In every country here you go through the local route. Your Gulf experience can support an HCPC or AHCS application, and you need a good standing letter from each Gulf regulator you have been licensed with.
Sources
- 1HCPC: Professions and protected titles
- 2HCPC: Protected function, hearing aid dispensers
- 3HCPC: Standards of proficiency for hearing aid dispensers
- 4HCPC: International applications
- 5HCPC: Certificate of English language proficiency
- 6HCPC: Paying your scrutiny fee
Show all 37 sourcesShow fewer sources
- 7HCPC: Registration fees for applicants
- 8NHS Health Careers: Audiology
- 9AHCS: Equivalence FAQs
- 10AHCS: PTP Certificate of Equivalence programme handbook (PDF)
- 11Professional Standards Authority: Independent quality mark for clinical physiologists
- 12NHS Employers: Pay scales for 2026/27
- 13GOV.UK: Health and Care Worker visa, your job
- 14GOV.UK: Skilled Worker visa eligible occupations and codes
- 15CORU: Registration boards
- 16Department of Health (Ireland): Audiologist, recognition of qualifications (PDF)
- 17HSE: Recognition of qualification
- 18HSE: Consolidated pay scales, 1 June 2026 (PDF)
- 19Recognition in Germany: Audiologist, training or master craftsperson?
- 20Recognition in Germany: List of non-regulated training occupations (PDF, in German)
- 21MT-Berufe-Gesetz, section 5 (reserved activities)
- 22MT-Berufe-Gesetz, section 6 (exceptions to reserved activities)
- 23Recognition in Germany: Recognition Finder, medical technologist in function diagnosis (Berlin, third-country qualification)
- 24SBB: Audicien, information for professionals (PDF, in Dutch)
- 25StAr: Diploma requirements (in Dutch)
- 26Staatsblad 2005, 265: Training requirements for clinical physicists (PDF, in Dutch)
- 27BIG register: Other professions
- 28BIG register: Certificate of Professional Competence
- 29BIG register: Dutch language skills
- 30BIG register: Processing time and costs
- 31BLS Occupational Outlook Handbook: Audiologists
- 32ASHA: Internationally educated applicants for CCC-A
- 33ETS: Praxis Audiology (5343)
- 34Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation: Audiology license application
- 35International Hearing Society: International Licensing Examination (ILE)
- 36eCFR: 8 CFR 212.15, certificates for foreign health care workers
- 37TruMerit: VisaScreen visa credentials assessment
Keep exploring
More for audiologists and hearing aid dispensers